life on a smallholding

not quite a business, but more than a hobby

Pine(less)apple and cherry loaf — Thursday, 1st March

Pine(less)apple and cherry loaf

Apple and cherry loaf
Apple and cherry loaf

When the baking challenge was announced on Twitter on Monday morning I was horrified.  It was pineapple and cherry loaf from  Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes.  I don’t like pineapple at all, not the taste nor the texture.  It sets my teeth on edge, like nails scraping on a blackboard.  I could have given it a miss this week but I really enjoy taking part so instead I decided to modify the recipe slightly – instead of pineapple I would use just plain apple and I replaced the pineapple juice with lemon juice.

I was very careful when baking, not to burn the top and towards the end I covered it with tinfoil.  The cake was so packed full of fruit that it didn’t have a chance of sinking to the bottom, thank goodness.  When I cut the cake at lunchtime, it was beautifully moist, not overly sweet and very very fruity.  I thought at first that there were some stodgy undercooked bits but they were actually chunks of apple.

Incidentally we always have a bit of an argument on cake tasting day as I like to snap pictures for half an hour to make sure I’ve got all the best angles, whereas Himself just wants to stuff it in his face!

My apple and cherry loaf

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C and grease and line the base of a 900g loaf tin.
  2. Put the flour, sugar, softened butter and eggs into a bowl and mix well until smooth.
  3. Add the lemon juice and fold the fruit into cake mixture.
  4. Spoon into the loaf tin and bake for 1 ¼ – 1 ½ hours (I baked mine for around 2 hours) until risen and golden and a skewer inserted into the loaf, comes out clean.
  5. Leave in the tin for 5 minutes, then turn out and remove the liner from the base.  Cool completely on a wire rack.

Come and join in!

