life on a smallholding

not quite a business, but more than a hobby

Eggsactly — Friday, 9th March

Eggsactly

Hokey pokey coffee cake
Hokey pokey coffee cake

This week’s baking challenge from  Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes was hokey pokey coffee cake.  It introduced me to something that I had never attempted before – praline.  If you don’t have the book, you can find a similar recipe HERE.

Cracking nuts
Cracking nuts

As usual I didn’t have quite enough nuts for the recipe, so out came a bag leftover from Christmas two years ago, along with the nutcrackers.  I had to use a mixture of walnut and hazelnut but that didn’t seem to affect the finished cake.

The recipe needed 4 large eggs but just that day one of our geese had laid the first egg of the year so I decided to use it in the cake.  After a quick search online, there was some discrepancy as to whether one goose egg was equal to 3 or 4 chicken eggs.  After the addition of the goose egg, the mix was rather thick and I was tempted to add a chicken egg but decided the nuts would have less chance of sinking to the bottom in a thicker batter.

Duck, goose and chicken eggs
Duck, goose and chicken eggs

Making the praline was so simple, just heat some sugar, wait for it to go brown, and yes, it does eventually, then stir in the nuts and leave to cool.

To try to minimise the ski slope effect, I baked one sponge at a time in the centre of the oven and once again used my home made bake even strips.  I ended up with a cake evenly baked throughout with just a slight pitch on it.

It certainly was impressive when I unveiled it on the kitchen table and there was much impatient tutting whilst I took its picture.  As for the taste, not my favourite but Himself awarded it 8 out of 10.

Come and join in!

