Apricot Swiss cake
Apricot Swiss cake

This week’s weekly bake-off from Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes, was apricot Swiss cakes.  A very similar recipe can be found here HERE, but they are not cakes in the sponge sense, much more like Viennese whirls.  For me there was an additional challenge, I just had to make the jam.

Pretty Swiss cakes
Pretty Swiss cakes

I didn’t have any apricot jam and jam is one of the things I never buy as I have a larder full of homemade stuff.  As it isn’t the season for apricots, my little tree has only just blossomed, I turned to the dried ones.  I made the decision not to chop the apricots as I thought a whole one would look best in the middle of these cakes and that was my undoing!

The were so easy to make and I was delighted that I had the chance to pull out my piping bag to get the mixture into the cases.  I used cup cake cases but I think the smaller fairy cake cases would have been better as they did sink a bit when they came out of the oven.  Also if I made them again, I wouldn’t move them from the bun tin to the wire rack until they have a had a chance to cool a bit as they did tend to crack while hot.

Cake cut
Cake cut

When they were unveiled for the tasting, I was a little concerned as they resembled jam tarts and Himself is not keen, however when it came to the tasting, he loved them.  The score was 9/10 and the only reason I lost that one point was because I didn’t chop the apricots.  When he bit into them, the whole apricot came with the first mouthful not leaving any for the rest of the cake.

Apricot jam

Dried apricots
Dried apricots
  • 400g dried apricots
  • 400g sugar (I used a mix of jam sugar and caster sugar)
  • 900ml water
  1. Put the dried apricots in a large bowl and add enough water to cover them (if you want to chop them, do it before soaking).
  2. Leave to soak overnight.
  3. Transfer the apricots and any water that hasn’t soaked in to a thick bottomed pan and add the 900ml water.
  4. Bring to the boil and simmer for around 15 minutes until the apricots are soft.
  5. Add the sugar and stir until it has dissolved.
  6. Simmer the jam for around 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Bring to the boil and cook until setting point is reached.
  8. Ladle into sterilised jars and seal.

Dried apricot jam
Dried apricot jam

Come and join in!

