poachedduckeggs
Poached duck egg on toasted rolls with brown sauce

We keep chickens, ducks and geese.  In the springtime we are inundated with eggs and sell our surplus at the gate.  The chicken eggs are snapped up.  We have a couple of people who take the ducks eggs but the goose eggs are mostly ignored and I usually end up making omelettes with them.

Aylesburys paddling
Aylesburys paddling

By far my favourite eggs are laid by the ducks.  We have Aylesburys and Muscovies.  The yolks are large and a deep orange colour and the whites cook up firmer than chicken eggs.  Personally I prefer the taste although there isn’t a huge difference and I probably couldn’t pick them out in a blind test.

When we have an abundance, I use them in everything, cakes, pasta and ice cream but I like to try and save them to eat in their egg form.  If I can’t be bothered to cook an elaborate meal, we often have fried duck eggs on toast, which is quick, easy and tasty.

I have always had a fear of undercooked whites, they turn my stomach, but I love my yolks runny so getting the balance right is always a challenge.

Of late, I have decided to branch out a bit and try poaching.  I’ve always been put off in the past, worried that I’d end up with either, slimy whites or a hard yolk.  However, I’ve now discovered the secret to perfect poached duck eggs.  There is nothing like them, served on toasted rolls with home made brown sauce for a simple, yet delicious, lunch.

Poached duck eggs

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
Ingredients
  • Duck eggs
  • Vinegar
  • Salt
Instructions
  1. Bring a large pan of water to the boil
  2. Add a pinch of salt and a drop of vinegar
  3. Crack the eggs into separate bowls
  4. Stir the water with a whisk until it’s swirling rapidly
  5. Plunge each egg into the vortex
  6. Put a lid on the pan and leave for 3 mins
  7. Remove the eggs with a slotted spoon