Rhubarb trifle with whipped goat cream
Rhubarb trifle with vanilla custard and whipped goat cream

The signature “bake” this week on the Great British Bake Off  was the humble trifle.  One of my all-time favourites which I make instead of Christmas pudding every year. When I was a child my mother would cook a roast dinner every Sunday.  Most weeks she would bake a cake, usually from a packet mix and I would get to lick the bowl.  She would also make a trifle for dessert.  This too was from a packet, the good old Bird’s trifle.  I loved the cream and the custard but I was never very keen on the jelly layer.  However, this became my idea of the perfect trifle and when I made my own trifles, not from a packet, they never quite tasted the same. I watched with interest when Heston Blumenthal was in Pursuit of Perfection and attempted to make the ultimate trifle.  It was a long and complicated recipe but I did try a couple of his ideas.  For instance, beating some ground tapioca into the cream makes it taste remarkably like “Dream Topping”.  Another little thing I tried was adding a layer of black olive jam but I’m not sure that was my idea of a perfect trifle.

I got this mould for Christmas and I intended to make tea cakes as demonstrated on the Bake Off last year but so far all I used it for is trifle sponges.
I got this mould for Christmas and I intended to make tea cakes as demonstrated on the Bake Off last year but so far I’ve only used it for trifle sponges

As you may expect the contestants on the bake-off produced a wide range of exotic desserts, not really my cup of tea.  If it hasn’t got hundreds and thousands on the top, it’s not a trifle as far as I’m concerned.  In fact I rarely even add a glass of sherry. I always bake my trifle sponges a few days in advance and they freeze well.  I use a simple fatless sponge or alternatively a Swiss roll recipe is perfect.  In fact the last time I made a Swiss roll I couldn’t fit all the batter onto the tin so I poured the leftover into tea cake moulds and they made the cutest little sponges yet.

Trifle sponges

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A simple fatless sponge, perfect for trifles
Ingredients
  • 2 eggs
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 45g plain flour
  • 25g cornflour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
Instructions
  1. Place all the ingredients in a bowl and beat thoroughly
  2. Grease and line a small cake tin
  3. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake at 180 degrees C for 20 minutes or until firm to the touch
  4. Turn out on a wire rack to cool
Trifle sponge spread with jam
Trifle sponge spread with jam

For the custard I use one of Delia’s recipes which includes cornflour.  If it gets over-heated and goes horribly wrong, just tip in a clean bowl, beat well with a whisk and it should return to a smooth custard. The jelly layer is made up of whatever fruit I have to hand.  I usually simmer it in a little water then add 3 sheets of gelatine to get it to set. To assemble my perfect trifle I spread the sponges with jam, arrange them in my bowl, then pour over the jelly.  This goes into the fridge and when set the custard goes on top.  I usually put in back in the fridge with a layer of cling film on top to stop a skin forming. All the above can be done the day before.  On the day itself, I add the lightly whipped goat cream layer and finally finish it off with hundreds and thousands – what else?

My perfect trifle
My perfect trifle

 

