Mini Victoria Sandwich with grapefruit and lime curd and buttercream
Mini Victoria Sandwich with grapefruit and lime curd and buttercream

I had been coveting the Lakeland 12 hole mini baking tray for some time and was delighted when I received it as a gift.  It was a good solid product with loose discs in the bases and a few spares too, in case of loss.

Mini 12 hole baking tray
Mini 12 hole baking tray

Before jumping straight in as I would normally do, I read all the reviews on the website and took note of the fact that some people had experienced problems with the tiny sponges sticking.

To avoid falling into the same trap, I was particularly careful whilst greasing each indentation.

For the batter, I used their own recipe on the website for Mini Lemon Curd Sponge Cakes but I created my own grapefruit and lime curd (recipe below).  I made sure not to overfill each one, stopping at three-quarters, however, I found that there was too much mixture for the twelve cases.

Once the first batch were baked I fill another 4 and baked again.  The second lot came out looking like big top tents!

Sponge cake or pork pie?
Sponge cake or pork pie?

I needn’t have worried as the sponges didn’t stick at all, in fact they all came away from the sides and popped out really easily.

I was a bit surprised at them, as they looked more like pork pies than sponges and they were very small.  At first I was rather disappointed, but that didn’t last long as when I sliced them in half and filled them with curd and buttercream, they looked magnificent and tasted fantastic, light as a feather, with the zestiness of the curd, cutting through the sweet buttercream.

Grapefruit and lime curd

A slightly different curd
Ingredients
  • 1 grapefruit
  • 1 lime
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 75g butter
Instructions
  1. Whisk the egg yolks, sugar and juice from the grapefruit and lime in a heat proof bowl
  2. Place over a saucepan of boiling water and cook gently stirring constantly
  3. Do not allow to boil
  4. Eventually the mixture will thicken to a mayonnaise consistency
  5. Remove from heat and whisk in the butter
  6. Leave to cool
  7. Refrigerate until use